9 replies to this topic

#1 Lisbeth

Lisbeth

Lisbeth

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 09 April 2008 - 03:36 PM

I'm new to birdwatching.  In my backyard, around my feeders, I have Savannah sparrows, common bushtits, purple finches, black-headed grosbeaks, California quail, dark-eyed juncos, white-crowned sparrows, and lesser goldfinches.  I have had a California thrasher stop by, and a large yellow and green bird with black wings and white wing bars with a grayish head.  Are there any particular birds I should be looking for around my area?

#2 IndianaBirdLover

IndianaBirdLover

IndianaBirdLover

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 736 posts

Posted 09 April 2008 - 03:43 PM

You could try eNature's ZipGuide:  http://www.enature.com/zipguides/

#3 Fiesty-in-the-Field

Fiesty-in-the-Field

Fiesty-in-the-Field

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 209 posts

Posted 09 April 2008 - 05:08 PM

Hi Lisbeth,

You might want to Google "Audubon  society", click on the chapters link, find the one closest to you and give them a call or email them.  Or, if you know of a nature center or park with rangers near you, give them a call.  Where is Hemet, CA?   It sounds like you have a GREAT mix of birds that visit your yard!!!!

#4 cnybirder

cnybirder

cnybirder

• New Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,205 posts
  • LocationFoothills of the Tug Hill Plateau, Central NY

Posted 09 April 2008 - 05:09 PM

Lisbeth:
I'm new to birdwatching.  In my backyard, around my feeders, I have Savannah sparrows, common bushtits, purple finches, black-headed grosbeaks, California quail, dark-eyed juncos, white-crowned sparrows, and lesser goldfinches.  I have had a California thrasher stop by, and a large yellow and green bird with black wings and white wing bars with a grayish head.  Are there any particular birds I should be looking for around my area?

Here is a complete list of all the birds that have been seen in your area in the last 2 years:
bird list for your area

#5 raptrlvr

raptrlvr

raptrlvr