12 replies to this topic

#1 Kevin Keane

Kevin Keane

Kevin Keane

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 20 November 2008 - 05:03 PM

I'm a carpenter in northern Alabama.  The house where I'm working backs up to a wooded hillside.  Everyday we've seen this all white woodpecker with a bright red triangle on the back of it's head working on this tree.  I've never seen a bird like it before!  I also have a very short video of it.  What is this bird?  I hope you can help!  Thanks, Kevin

Attached Files

#2 Bird Brain

Bird Brain

Bird Brain

• New Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 6,093 posts
  • LocationSacramento, CA

Posted 20 November 2008 - 05:10 PM

WOW, Kevin. What a find!! I can't tell from the photo what type it is. The overall shape suggests a Red-headed Woodpecker to me, but I can't say for sure. It sure is a rare bird, whatever species it is!!

BTW, welcome to WhatBird. And what part of Ala. are you in? I was born at Mentone.

#3 IndianaBirdLover

IndianaBirdLover

IndianaBirdLover

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 736 posts

Posted 20 November 2008 - 05:27 PM

Looks to me like it's a red-bellied woodpecker, not red-headed.  Almost totally leucistic (albino, if you prefer), though -- what a rare find.

#4 J B Maberry

J B Maberry

jbm32206

• New Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,604 posts
  • LocationArizona

Posted 20 November 2008 - 05:28 PM

Wow, indeed!! I've never seen a flicker or even heard of one that looks like that. How very cool...and yes, welcome to the forum. You sure started off with a fantastic find.

#5 IndianaBirdLover

IndianaBirdLover

IndianaBirdLover

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 736 posts

Posted 20 November 2008 - 06:01 PM

Perhaps I should have thought more carefully about the picture before I responded -- I don't think it's a red-bellied woodpecker, I think it's a northern flicker.  RBW have red in that area, but it's not a triangle.  Flickers, however, do have the triangle.  So...  an almost fully leucistic northern flicker!

#6 CMF

CMF

CMF