8 replies to this topic

#1 newinpdx

newinpdx

newinpdx

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 05 March 2007 - 12:17 PM

I am new to the northwest, and heard a call today that I have not heard in the year that we've been here. It was a 2 second, sllightly shrill whistle - constant pitch. Very loud - I estimate I was 200 yards from where the calls originated. It sounded like a referee's whistle. There were two different pitches of the same call, coming from different areas of the woods, so I assume two of the same bird. We live in old growth forest in the west hills of Portland - doug fir, etc. I could not see the birds. The call repeated every 30-60 seconds, and the birds were in the area for at least an hour, but moving through the canopy slowly.

Any ideas?

Thanks

Jason

#2 jbissell

jbissell

jbissell

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 131 posts

Posted 05 March 2007 - 12:30 PM

Im guessing Brown Creeper or perhaps Cedar Waxwing.

#3 newinpdx

newinpdx

newinpdx

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 05 March 2007 - 12:39 PM

Thanks - yes, sounds a bit like the Brown Creeper, but each call was a single whistle, lasted 2-3 times longer, and the interval between calls was much longer. Each call was separated by a minute or maybe more. I went back to listen to the Waxwing - this was unlike the sample call (if that it representative.) 

#4 tim.birdboy

tim.birdboy

tim.birdboy

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 755 posts

Posted 05 March 2007 - 04:12 PM

Perhaps it was a European Starling?? They come up with the craziest combinations of whistles, notes, etc. I have even heard them sing octaves! They also are excellent mimics, around here they mimic the calls of Killdeers and Black-capped Chickadees.

I hope this helps,

Tim H.

#5 Cataclysmic Beefstick

Cataclysmic Beefstick

Cataclysmic Beefstick

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 218 posts

Posted 07 March 2007 - 08:25 AM

VARIED THRUSH: http://identify.what...ied_Thrush.aspx

Listen to the sound on that page.

#6 newinpdx