• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 vibriologist

vibriologist

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 26 April 2012 - 06:37 PM

Eureka! I think I finally got it! I have spent an embarrassingly large amount of time, energy, and money on trying to deter squirrels from my back yard bird feeders (in Baton Rouge, LA), and I think I finally have a solution! I have tried to spell out as much detail in the image below so that you can do it too! This is my first time ever starting a topic or forum or what not, so I hope this works! Also, if you have any further ideas or ways to improve on this idea, I'm all ears!!! Thanks for reading.

Crystal

Attached Files

#2 creeker

creeker

creeker

• New Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 9,605 posts
  • LocationSan Diego County

Posted 27 April 2012 - 07:17 AM

Good info there! Welcome to WhatBird!
Creationist Birder

#3 cabirds

cabirds

cabirds

• New Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,012 posts
  • LocationSacramento, CA, USA

Posted 27 April 2012 - 08:18 AM

Welcome!

I found if you grease the metal poles with lithium or even axle grease, it'll keep the squirrels from climbing them. My squirrels will chew through hardware cloth in a day or two. I moved my pole out into the middle of the yard > 10ft from any tree to keep the leapy-things away from playing "flying squirrel" too. :) That seems to have resolved the problem for 6+ months now.
--- Jodie in Sacramento

Visit my Photo Gallery of California Birds at: Temporarily Unavailable

#4 Inzl Kett

Inzl Kett

Inzl Kett

• New Members
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
  • LocationMinnesota

Posted 29 April 2012 - 01:27 AM