Ceeege

Advanced Member

• New Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 70 posts
  • LocationSouth Wales, UK

Posted 27 June 2012 - 05:09 PM

Hi everyone!

I'm a British Birder and have visited the US twice now on two excellent trips, firstly to the unbelieveable Magee Marsh last year and this year did the Upper Texas Coast, down to the border, RGV & the Hill Country which was also superb.

I'm a photographer and took far too many images whilst over there and with my limited free time, I'm slowly plodding through the backlog from April. My father and I didn't nail any Dowitcher id's on call while we were there so hoped to pin them down at a later date on forums such as this.

This was taken April 9th at Anahuac NWR Texas, feeding alone in one of the many freshwater pools with mixed shorebirds such as Lesser and Greater Yellowlegs, Least, Spotted & Solitary Sandpipers, Dunlin & Killdeer.

Any id help would be appreciated as would any feedback and mis-identifications on my US site USBirds.Ceeege.Com

Many thanks for your time.

Chris

Attached Files

Chris (UK birder)
USA Life list - 451 in 46 days of American birding (~435 photographed)
UK Life list - 304 in 42 years of British birding (299 photographed)

Chris' American Bird Quiz (400+ species!)

Chris' British Bird Quiz

My American bird photography site or Photos of almost 300 Species of British Birds    Twitter:@CeeegeBirds

#2 psweet

psweet

Advanced Member

• New Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 16,160 posts
  • LocationNortheast Illinois

Posted 27 June 2012 - 05:32 PM

Looks like Long-billed, based on the white tips and rufous bars on the wing coverts, the heavy black and white barring on rufous below (especially on the neck and upper breast), and the lack of white on the belly.

#3 Ceeege

Ceeege

Advanced Member

• New Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 70 posts

Posted 28 June 2012 - 08:15 AM

Thanks psweet. Being colour blind and also only seeing them when I cross the Atlantic makes id a bit difficult!

Chris (UK birder)