#1 Autzman

Autzman

Autzman

• New Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 128 posts
  • LocationLong Beach, California

Posted 15 July 2012 - 07:23 PM

I recently visited the Monterey Bay Aquarium in central California, and took some pictures of birds they were rehabilitating there. Unfortunately, not even the museum's guides seemed to be able to tell these birds apart! I'm a complete novice when it comes to shore birds (just moved to California from the Midwest), so I would definitely appreciate some identification help. If I can't tell them apart up close like this, I fear I'll never be able to identify them in the field!

First bird
Possibly a Sanderling in breeding plumage? There were numerous Dunlin in the area which I could tell by their black bellies, but this one had an all white belly... (That's an avocet standing over the top of it, if a size comparison will help anyone.)

Second bird
A much, much smaller bird, definitely a sandpiper. Reddish color makes me think Western Sandpiper but maybe a Semiplamated Sandpiper? Didn't see their feet either, so could even be Least? Augh, sandpipers all look so similar! (For a tiny bit of size comparison, the tuff of feathers on the far right is a Semiplamated Plover.)

Third bird
Okay, I don't have too much hope of getting this one exactly right. I'm pretty sure it's a Dowitcher (maybe) but I can't at all tell the difference between the long-billed and short-billed varities... Not to mention he didn't want to lift his beak out of the grass for anything in the world. Any advice on telling the dowitchers apart would definitely be appreciated.

Then I decided to go down to the actual shore and give myself a challenge. I ended up coming across this fourth bird, here. I apologize for the image quality; they were very shy and wouldn't let me get close at all. The white eye stripe and shorter beak makes me think it's a Whimbrel, but that would supposedly put it out for range for the season?