StrictlyTopSecret

StrictlyTopSecret

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 21 January 2008 - 08:00 AM

Hello!

I was so excited to find this forum!

I just received a bird feeder for my birthday a couple of weeks ago. We hung it on our small deck, and low and behold, we have a wide variety of visitors!

Now, we'd really like to be able to identify them. Here is a pic of one with a red head and chest. It is mostly brown. We think it might be some sort of finch, but really haven't the slightest clue. I am completely new to this whole thing, but am eager to learn.

What sort of bird might this be?

Thank you in advance for your expert assistance!

Appreciatively,

~STS~

#2 snowyowl

snowyowl

snowyowl

• New Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,303 posts

Posted 21 January 2008 - 08:13 AM

That's a male house finch.  You can expect them to be regulars at your feeder.  They are also attractive and sing merrily much of the time.

#3 Matt P

Matt P

Matt P

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 365 posts

Posted 21 January 2008 - 08:14 AM

Looks like a male house finch. I joined the forum last week. These people are experts in the bird ID world. You will be surprised how good they are.

#4 StrictlyTopSecret

StrictlyTopSecret

StrictlyTopSecret

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 21 January 2008 - 08:17 AM

Thanks so much for your speedy, thorough reply!

#5 snowyowl

snowyowl

snowyowl

• New Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,303 posts

Posted 21 January 2008 - 08:20 AM

Addendum:  Other birds you can regularly expect at your feeder this time of year would include house sparrow, white-breasted nuthatch, tufted titmouse, black-capped chickadee, northern cardinal, downy (and possibly also hairy) woodpecker.  Also keep an eye out for red-breasted nuthatch and American tree sparrow, and if you are really lucky, perhaps even some boreal finches such as common redpoll and evening grosbeak which are having an irruptive year.

#6 tim.birdboy

tim.birdboy

tim.birdboy

• Members