#1 Outsider

Outsider

Advanced Member

• New Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 75 posts
  • LocationPennsylvania

Posted 07 February 2013 - 10:12 PM

I would like to know the the proper name of duck. I am just getting into bird and duck identification, I have photos and verifying correct names. Thanks,[attachment=103119:DSC_0942 (640x426).jpg] This was in a pond this winter NE Pa,

#2 IvoryBillHope

IvoryBillHope

North Carolina Teen Birder

• New Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 4,196 posts
  • LocationNorth Carolina

Posted 07 February 2013 - 10:16 PM

Female Mallard.

Life List- 219
2014- 137

Recent lifers- Sandwich Tern, Black Skimmer, Whimbrel, Wilson's Plover!!!!!!!!!!!!

Yard List- 73

#3 psweet

psweet

Advanced Member

• New Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 16,108 posts
  • LocationNortheast Illinois

Posted 07 February 2013 - 10:16 PM

This is a female Mallard. The white borders on the blue speculum (that's the brightly colored part of a duck's wing, on the secondary feathers) and the orange bill with a dark saddle are good things to look for.

#4 cany

cany

Advanced Member

• New Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 5,376 posts
  • LocationSo. Cal. Foothills, Cleveland Ntl. Forest

Posted 07 February 2013 - 10:18 PM

And the dark patch on the bill says female, also.

Oops... see PSweet covered that:) And with better language, no less:)

New Birder January 1, 2013
Life list: 326