Welcome to WhatBird Forums Sign in | Join | Help
in Search

Whatbird.com

WAS VIRUS ATTACHED TO THIS SITE

Last post 06-04-2009, 8:37 PM by luv2bird. 27 replies.
Page 2 of 2 (28 items)   < Previous 1 2
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  •  05-21-2009, 1:17 PM 96208 in reply to 96173

    Re: WAS VIRUS ATTACHED TO THIS SITE

    The main Blogs page also has the bad iframe.

    You'll probably want to do a text search of every page on the site.

  •  05-21-2009, 7:54 PM 96284 in reply to 96208

    Re: WAS VIRUS ATTACHED TO THIS SITE

    plethora:
    The main Blogs page also has the bad iframe.You'll probably want to do a text search of every page on the site.

     

    OK i pulled that one out, it was in two files. We did do a text search of the entire drive and it still did not find these two, which makes me believe that  windows search for text in a file is not adequate. I have AVG running and will be checking all our pages again.


    Mitch Waite
  •  05-22-2009, 4:08 AM 96317 in reply to 96284

    Re: WAS VIRUS ATTACHED TO THIS SITE

    Bizarre.  I just noticed it's also on the Downloads page.

    Hopefully that's it. :-)

  •  05-22-2009, 7:56 AM 96350 in reply to 96317

    Re: WAS VIRUS ATTACHED TO THIS SITE

    Can you tell me what virus checker gave you that notice? I went to the download page and with AVG Free I dont get any alert.

    iBird Explorer: Finally a field guide as light as a feather. See it at http://www.ibird.com
  •  05-22-2009, 9:30 AM 96359 in reply to 96350

    Re: WAS VIRUS ATTACHED TO THIS SITE

    Nothing gave me an alert.  But the last line in the source code sends you to http://bigtopmanagement.cn, which is a bad site.  I just quickly checked all the main pages for that link.

    Edit: Just tried it again and Symantec alerted.  It appears the bigtop site doesn't try and send a virus everytime -- only sometimes.

  •  05-22-2009, 9:58 AM 96361 in reply to 96359

    Re: WAS VIRUS ATTACHED TO THIS SITE

    plethora:

    Nothing gave me an alert.  But the last line in the source code sends you to http://bigtopmanagement.cn, which is a bad site.  I just quickly checked all the main pages for that link.

    Edit: Just tried it again and Symantec alerted.  It appears the bigtop site doesn't try and send a virus everytime -- only sometimes.

     

    OK I found it and deleted it. I dont get why my Norton is not alerting me.


    iBird Explorer: Finally a field guide as light as a feather. See it at http://www.ibird.com
  •  05-24-2009, 7:48 PM 96847 in reply to 96361

    Re: WAS VIRUS ATTACHED TO THIS SITE

    Just logged in for the first time in a few days. Got no virus warning. Good Job Mitch!!!!
    Luke 12:6
    Are not five sparrows sold for two pennies? And not one of them is forgotten before God.
  •  05-24-2009, 8:39 PM 96854 in reply to 96847

    Re: WAS VIRUS ATTACHED TO THIS SITE

    Great. We used a program called agent ransack to search for problem files.
    iBird Explorer: Finally a field guide as light as a feather. See it at http://www.ibird.com
  •  05-26-2009, 12:17 PM 97268 in reply to 96854

    Re: WAS VIRUS ATTACHED TO THIS SITE

    Mitchell Waite:
    Great. We used a program called agent ransack to search for problem files.
    I had a weird Egret photo pop up while trying to open a post called hooded warbler on this post http://www.whatbird.com/forums/forums/thread/97270.aspx

    Just a suggestion, but maybe you shouldn't publicize which programs you use to clean Whatbird systems on any of the forums, and make an internal safety program so right click is disabled, that way the hackers won't try to bypass your system or write new malware codes into pages. Just my $0.02 worth which ain't much.


    "Watch the birdie."
    Latest: Sage Thrasher, Ferruginous Hawk (Dark Morph).
  •  06-03-2009, 11:55 AM 98799 in reply to 97268

    Re: WAS VIRUS ATTACHED TO THIS SITE

    Another trojan popped up. McAffee detected it as Exploit-PDF.b.gen.a
    Luke 12:6
    Are not five sparrows sold for two pennies? And not one of them is forgotten before God.
  •  06-03-2009, 12:34 PM 98810 in reply to 98799

    Re: WAS VIRUS ATTACHED TO THIS SITE

    Really! Can you tell me what page it showed up on? 
    Mitch Waite
  •  06-03-2009, 6:39 PM 98895 in reply to 98810

    Re: WAS VIRUS ATTACHED TO THIS SITE

    goofy166:
    Really! Can you tell me what page it showed up on? 
    Sorry. I'm not sure now. I'm pretty sure I was in the forums, but not sure which one. It didn't show up this time however so you may have gotten it.
    Luke 12:6
    Are not five sparrows sold for two pennies? And not one of them is forgotten before God.
  •  06-04-2009, 8:37 PM 99092 in reply to 98895

    Re: WAS VIRUS ATTACHED TO THIS SITE

    The one n2 told me about earlier was a Potentially Unwanted Program. PUP's aren't a virus but can damage running programs if you try to uninstall them. The PUP is called  - Obfuscated Script.f.gen trojan

    Read about PUP's for McAfee http://www.mcafee.com/us/local_content/white_papers/wp_antispyware_shadesofgray.pdf


    "Watch the birdie."
    Latest: Sage Thrasher, Ferruginous Hawk (Dark Morph).
Page 2 of 2 (28 items)   < Previous 1 2
View as RSS news feed in XML