Whatbird Community Board
Kiru

Bluebird House Question

Hi all,

I'm new to backyard birding and want to put up. Bluebird house for eastern bluebirds (we are in Maryland near Baltimore). I've purchased a Peterson box from a local wildlife store and plan on putting it up this week.

I'm probably thinking too hard about all this, but wanted to get some feedback from more experienced birders. 

We have a conservation easement on our property, which is where all of our trees (very thin where we are) are. I was planning on mounting the house on one of those trees but was concerned about causing damage to the trees with screws. Any of you have any experience with these easements or have any advice for screwing (or mounting it another way) the house to the tree without damage? The reason I'm concerned is that we could potentially face fines for damage and we have a neighbor that I wouldn't put it past them to report us (though they are violating it so we might be safe lol)

Also I have read that we need about 50 foot of space in front of the box with some small trees or shrubs. How necessary is this? We would probably face it out our house otherwise, but the best way to face it for this purpose would be into the wind or at our evil neighbors.

I can upload some pics if you need but I'll have to resize them a little later or upload them somewhere.

Thanks for any advice you have on this situation. 

I would strongly urge you to consider another option.  I wouldn’t be as concerned about damage to the tree as I would damage to the nest.  Mounting a nest box on a tree just invites all kinds of predators to enter it.  Whether they may go after the eggs or the hatchlings, there is little to protect them.  A much safer option is mounting the box on a pole with a baffle.  That gives the parents the best shot at defending the nest.